Beef Stroganoff

July 31, 2011 at 4:02 pm (recipes)

Not a new recipe for us, but a new recipe for the blog, and one of our favorites because of how quick and easy it cooks. I whipped it up last week after a full day of teaching, since I didn’t have a lot of time to prep for dinner. It’s not particularly healthy, but you could probably adapt it – yogurt instead of sour cream?

This recipe is easily scaled to however many people you’re feeding, just multiply the sauce recipe accordingly. The amounts below are perfect for two people:
1 TB of butter
1 TB of flour
1/2 cup of beef broth
1/4 cup of sour cream
sometimes, I like to add a little red wine too for flavor, but it’s totally optional. Also, it makes the sauce pink, just to warn you.

Start by cutting up your beef into bite size strips. I usually use one steak for two of us, as this is pretty filling, so about 4-5 oz of meat per person. Melt the butter in a skillet on the stovetop, and when the skillet is hot, add your beef and brown. Once the meat is mostly cooked, add your flour and stir until combined. Then add beef broth, and cook until meat is done to your liking. Stir in the sour cream, and a little red wine if you wish, and keep cooking/stirring until sauce is hot all the way through. Serve over egg noodles, or another kind of pasta if you prefer. I served it with a side salad, and it was a perfect dinner for a summer evening – if it was winter, I might have added a bread and another vegetable as we tend to be much hungrier in the winter.

Right now, I’m sipping on some mint iced tea while working on some craft projects, and it’s making for a lovely afternoon! But I’d like to know: what do you want to see from this blog? I’m struggling to think of things to post lately… a collection of my favorite links? Things I’m working on? Books I’m reading? All of the above? (And is there an easy way to post from my Blackberry, does anyone know?)

Leave a comment