New goal: BBC’s 100 books list

November 19, 2010 at 11:22 pm (random, reading)

So in 2003 the BBC asked readers to nominate the top 100 novels that everyone should read. It’s an interesting list… you can read all 100 here. Because it’s chosen by readers some are popular, not exactly chosen for their literary merit. However, I haven’t read all 100, so I think that’s my goal for this next year: read/blog about the books below that I still need to read…

2 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
4 Harry Potter series – JK Rowling (I’ve read the first two. They’re not my favorites so we’ll see if that counts or if I read the rest.)
7 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman (Heard him speak in Oxford. He’s very interesting.)
10 Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
14 Complete Works of Shakespeare (I have no idea how many I’m missing… but I know I’m missing some.)
16 The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulk
19 The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
20 Middlemarch – George Eliot
21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas
29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame (I think I’ve read this but not sure. Will revisit and confirm.)
31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32 David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33 Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis (in progress: finished Magician’s Nephew on 1/30/2011, Prince Caspian on 2/14/2011, The Horse and His Boy on 2/26/2011)
34 Emma -Jane Austen
36 The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe – CS Lewis (repeat… cheaters.) DONE!
37 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
38 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39 Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
41 Animal Farm – George Orwell
42 The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
43 One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44 A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48 The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
50 Atonement – Ian McEwan
51 Life of Pi – Yann Martel
52 Dune – Frank Herbert
53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56 The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63 The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64 The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold (I started this book and HATED IT. I might try again.)
65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68 Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding (Also started and didn’t like. Will try again.)
69 Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70 Moby Dick – Herman Melville
71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
72 Dracula – Bram Stoker
74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75 Ulysses – James Joyce
76 The Inferno – Dante
77 Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78 Germinal – Emile Zola
79 Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
80 Possession – AS Byatt
82 Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83 The Color Purple – Alice Walker
84 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
86 A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
88 The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (I’ve read some Holmes books… but I can’t remember which ones.)
90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
91 Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
95 A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Whew. Long list. Not even going to count, I think that’d be too overwhelming.

8 Comments

  1. Enchilada Casserole « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] BBC Book List update: I have checked out The Magician’s Nephew and The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe… hoping to start reading this weekend. Really wondering if I’ll like them – I like CS Lewis’s nonfiction writing style, but I am not a fan of fantasy nor scriptural allegory most of the time. But I’m giving it a shot – I’m tired of people’s shocked expressions when they find out I haven’t read Chronicles of Narnia. LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Starbucks-like pumpkin scones « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] Magician’s Nephew? Yeah, still haven’t started. Eh. LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. Dec 6 « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] picture ties in to my goal to read all of the BBC 100 books… After the recommendation of multiple people, I read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe […]

  4. 2011 resolutions « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] at 7:14 pm (goals, random) Like I don’t have enough lists going… recipes I want to do, books I want to read, crafts I want to finish… but here’s another one. Anyone else making lists of things to […]

  5. Another book finished: The Magician’s Nephew « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] 31, 2011 at 10:35 pm (random) So I made a goal to read all of the books on the BBC’s 100 Books list… and I finished another one last night!! The Magician’s Nephew, by C.S. […]

  6. Prince Caspian, Valentine’s Day, and new recipe FAIL « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] and finished Prince Caspian by CS Lewis while waiting today, so another one is crossed off my list! So far, I’ve liked Prince Caspian and The Magician’s Nephew better than Lion, Witch, […]

  7. The Horse and His Boy « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] That’s how I feel about this book, the latest on my list. Kind of a let down, after how much I loved Prince Caspian… no wonder they haven’t made […]

  8. Honey Dijon Pork Chops and Cinnamon Roll Cake « just a girl and her macbook said,

    […] haven’t done any reading for my BBC 100 list in a long time. I’m mostly through the Chronicles of Narnia series and I’m just not […]

Leave a Reply

