Starbucks-like pumpkin scones

December 2, 2010 at 10:58 pm (recipes)

I got on a little scone kick this year, after making some pretty good blueberry ones this summer. I do not like dry scones, but this latest batch of pumpkin scones… well they’re pretty much perfect. The frosting especially… I could eat it with a spoon. I didn’t, though, because I did that one Thanksgiving when I was little and I threw up bright green frosting all night…

The recipe is from here, I made a few changes so I copied it below with my notes.

Pumpkin Scones
* 2 cups all-purpose flour
* 7 tablespoons sugar
* 1 tablespoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
* 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
* 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
instead of the four spices above, I just did 1 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice.
* 6 tablespoons cold butter
* 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
* 3 tablespoons half-and-half
* 1 large egg

Powdered Sugar Glaze
* 1 cup powdered sugar
* 1 tablespoon powdered sugar
* 2 tablespoons whole milk
Spiced Glaze
* 1 cup powdered sugar
* 3 tablespoons powdered sugar
* 2 tablespoons whole milk
* 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
* 1 pinch ginger
* 1 pinch ground cloves
again, I just did 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the four spices listed above.

Ok, so for the glazes, I didn’t measure them out separately. I’m lazy, and that wasn’t going to happen. Instead, I just made two-ish cups of powdered sugar frosting, frosted them once with the plain version, then added the spices and a little more powdered sugar to make the thicker, spiced version. The pictures on the website show it piped on, like it is at Starbucks, but I just poured it on with a spoon. Tasted just as good. 🙂 They’re best warm, but they’re not bad cold for breakfast. This made about six normal sized scones, but I cut them in half so I could have snack sized scones.

Magician’s Nephew? Yeah, still haven’t started. Eh.

Leave a Reply

