December Photo Project

December 5, 2010 at 8:08 pm (december photo project, pictures)

My friend Bethany, who encouraged me to start up this blog again, posted recently about the December Photo Project, and I thought it’d be a fun thing to post about. Along with the BBC book list and recipes and Christmas stuff and finals. Whew, I’ve got a lot to write about. πŸ™‚

So the gist of the project: take a picture every day from Dec 1-25 and post it. I’m behind since I joined this weekend, but here are my pictures from Dec 4/5.

Car in the Solvang Christmas Parade, Dec 4th
Car in the Solvang Christmas Parade, Dec 4th

Winterfest in Solvang - my favorite Stover family tradition!
Winterfest in Solvang – my favorite Stover family tradition!

A Chevrolet Bel Air - one of my favorite cars ever, spotted Dec 5th
A Chevrolet Bel Air – one of my favorite cars ever, spotted in Solvang Dec 5th

This weekend was wonderful – one of the things I love about my husband is the things we have in common, and we got to do some of them on Saturday/Sunday. Saturday we got up early (not a favorite thing to do, but necessary this time) and took a road trip to Solvang for the Christmas parade/Winterfest. On the way up we listened to one of our favorite radio shows, Car Talk. Then we had amazing breakfast/lunch, walked around and window shopped, watched the parade, spent a few hours just reading in our room, played card games, and just generally relaxed. We’ve had a stressful summer/fall, so this was a good recharging weekend. We left Solvang around 11, and went to Main Street in Motion, a car test drive event at the racetrack in Arcadia.

We drove 9 different cars at the event, debated which we’d like to replace our station wagon when the time comes, and got to spend time just talking about what we liked and didn’t like. I’ll never know as much about cars as Tyler, but as a mechanic/car aficionado’s daughter, and now as a car aficionado’s wife, I love the time we spend at the LA Auto Show or test driving cars. And the best part – after the event we climbed back in our car (2004 Ford Taurus Wagon) and we decided it was better than any car we drove that day. (Save the sports cars, but let’s be practical here.) Yay for loving our paid off, reliable car!

1 Comment

  1. Bethany said,

    I’m glad that you had such a wonderful time!
    Solvang is so stinking cute, it must be adorable at Christmastime!

    Yay for signing up for DPP! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

