Lemon-Mustard Chicken

January 4, 2011 at 11:08 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

As part of my goals for the year, I wanted to try one new recipe a week. Now that I’m student teaching and off at a really nice time, I have plenty of chances to cook new foods! Tonight was a new sauce for simple seared chicken, courtesy of the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook a coworker got me for Christmas. It’s nothing fancy, but it added a really nice flavor. Seared is my favorite way to cook chicken, so I drizzled this on top of two chicken breasts and seared them in hot olive oil in a frying pan for about 15-20 minutes, until the temperature inside the chicken reached 160 degrees.

Lemon-Mustard Sauce:
2 TB cooking oil
1 TB dijon style mustard
1 TB lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp lemon-pepper seasoning (didn’t have this… so I skipped it!)
1 tsp dried oregano or basil, crushed
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (didn’t have this either… so I used chili powder)

and that’s it! I really liked it though – definitely will remember this in the future when I just want to cook up some chicken in a hurry. I served this with broccoli and homemade mashed potatoes, and a glass of red wine (we were out of white, oops!).

1 Comment

  1. Bethany said,

    Yum! Lemon-mustard isn’t a combination I would have thought of on my own!

    Isn’t it nice to get off so early in the afternoon? 🙂

Leave a Reply

