New Recipe: Gingerbread Bars

January 21, 2011 at 11:24 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

Didn’t get to try a new dinner recipe this week… ended up with most of our favorites instead. However, I did try a new dessert! I got this recipe from a coworker’s wife… they are incredibly delicious!! Delicious enough that the taste outweighs having to buy shortening and molasses just for this recipe. πŸ™‚

3/4 cup shortening
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves (note: instead of 1/2 tsp ginger and 1/2 tsp cloves, I just used 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. The end result tasted the same to me!)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup molasses (she recommended the brand Grandma’s, in the yellow jar, so that’s what I used)
1 egg

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Beat the egg into the molasses, then add the dry ingredients and set aside. Melt shortening completely and let cool for exactly 4 minutes. When shortening is cooled, add to dry ingredient/molasses mixture and stir.

When done, the dough will be like warm play dough. Press into bottom of non-stick or greased 10×15 (I used a 9 x 13) pan. Bake for 9-10 minutes until just golden. (This was not enough time for my oven… I did about 12 minutes and it still could have used another minute or two.)

Cut and enjoy!!! (Since I pulled mine too soon, I had to wait for them to cool before cutting them. Still tasted great! πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

