Steak in the oven – I promise, it’s good

February 15, 2011 at 7:26 pm (recipes)

Still no new recipe this week. Perhaps tomorrow? Had a late IEP meeting for one of my students (I signed my first IEP today!! I feel so legal!!) and I needed to use some NY steaks, so I went for one of my old favorites: steak in the oven. Expected it to be completely dry the first time I tried it… but now I like it even better than grilling!

I got this from the comment section on an Apartment Therapy post eight-ish months ago. Thanks, random commenter!

Gather kosher/sea salt/whatever salt you have, extra virgin olive oil, and ground black pepper. Preheat the oven to 475 degrees. Sprinkle salt in a thin layer on a baking sheet. Lightly drizzle olive oil on to both sides of the meat and brush/rub it in. Then place the beef, fattest side up, on the salt layer. Place sheet on lower rack of oven and roast until the meat begins to exude fat/juices, about 18 minutes. If you have a thermometer, 120 degrees is rare, 130 is medium rare, and 140 is a nice medium well – our favorite. Once done, remove from oven and bed of salt. Grind black pepper on top, tent with foil, and rest for 15 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

For my sides, I made some garlic roasted potatoes and green beans/broccoli, and homemade iced tea to drink. And now, off to finish a Braille lesson before Glee. Yes, I am quite happily a Gleek. πŸ™‚

Any other steak in the oven fans out there?? (Any other Glee fans out there?? πŸ˜‰ )

Leave a Reply

