Freakonomics, olive oil, and cheap wine

February 19, 2011 at 7:05 pm (random, recipes)

Just finished reading this post about olive oil and people’s preferences vs. what is considered good olive oil. It reminded me of this podcast from the authors of Freakonomics, one of my favorite books ever.

I will honestly admit that I love cheap food. One of our new favorite red wines costs $1.99 a bottle at Fresh and Easy. In fact, I love it even more because we can enjoy a glass or two a week, instead of saving and saving for one bottle of super expensive wine a year. I can’t taste a difference between cheaper and more expensive herbal teas, so most of the time I buy whatever is on sale. Steven Levitt talks about this in relation to his own palate in the podcast, stating that he gets a lot of enjoyment out of cheap food. Listening to him and then reading the olive oil blog post made me realize I’m the same way – and I kinda like that.

I’m trying to expand our cooking repertoire, cutting out high fructose corn syrup from our groceries, skipping hydrogenated oils, etc. In general, we’d like to be healthier and more gourmet, less processed. But sometimes? Sometimes the comfort that comes from a box of Kraft mac and cheese just can’t be beat. And I’m enjoying that part of our life too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

