New Recipe: Caprese Bruschetta

February 20, 2011 at 6:45 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

Yay! I tried a new recipe this week! And… it’s one I made up myself. πŸ™‚

Well, sorta. It’s really not that difficult and is a pretty basic concept. It does have a cool/long back story though.

My absolute favorite restaurant is California Grill at Disney World. We’ve been twice, and both times we’ve had the triple cheese flatbread with sun dried tomatoes and arugula pesto. Then, at Food and Wine Festival at Disney California Adventure in May 2010, we heard Angelo from Angelo and Franco talk about their work making authentic Italian mozzarella and other cheeses here in Los Angeles. They made caprese salads for all 100 of us attending the presentation, and I was highly impressed with the quality of the mozzarella. Spent the next few months looking for their cheeses, but they were only available at Whole Foods for a while, and let’s face it, I’m lazy and there’s not a Whole Foods near us. Then! Glory of glories! They are now selling Angelo and Franco at Fresh and Easy!

So I picked up some fresh mozzarella balls last time I went shopping, and wanted to make some sort of caprese flatbread, to combine what we love about California Grill with what we loved about Angelo and Franco’s caprese salads. Garlic loaves were on sale, so I turned it into a sort of a bruschetta this time, but in the future, I want to make a pizza dough and use it for the flatbread base.

And now, to the recipe! You’ll need sundried tomatoes (I found them in a bag, julienned and dried. I think it works better that way than the kind in a jar, in oil. But to each his own.), basil, fresh mozzarella, and balsamic. I cut 8 slices of the loaf, then put slices of cheese on each piece, then tomatoes, minced basil, and drizzled balsamic on top. I stuck it in the oven at 400 degrees for about ten minutes, until the cheese was melted. If I were making this on pizza dough, I think I’d prebake the dough for a few minutes before adding the toppings – the tomatoes started to crisp up a lot, even after just ten minutes.

We each had four slices, and combined with a salad it was the perfect Sunday dinner. Sundays are our grazing days – we tend to eat a few smaller snack meals instead of a big dinner. Saturdays are intensive/big dinner days around here. πŸ™‚

Any other mozzarella fans? I think it’s pretty much the best cheese ever!

Leave a Reply

