First attempt at homemade bread

February 22, 2011 at 7:31 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

Woohoo, look at that! Two new recipes this week!

In an effort to cut out as much processed food as possible (I deal with some blood sugar issues, so the more natural the food, the easier time I have) I decided to make bread this weekend. I also decided to make bread because I finally bought a loaf pan and couldn’t wait to use it. 🙂

I used the following recipe, which came in with my Kitchenaid mixer, in a rather useful little cookbook. I was stupid and was going to halve the recipe, but then I added all the water. Sooo, then I had to add more flour/yeast/etc. Which completely messed up the order you’re supposed to go in. The resulting loaves were a little dense, but still tasted amazing.

Rapid Mix Cool Rise White Bread
6 to 7 cups flour
2 TBS sugar
3 1/2 tsp salt
3 packages yeast
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 cups very warm water (120-130 degrees)

Mix 5 1/2 cups flour, sugar, salt, yeast, and butter in mixer bowl. Attach bowl and dough hook to mixer. Turn to speed 2, mix for 20 seconds. Gradually add warm water and mix for 1 1/2 minutes longer. Continuing on speed 2, add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time. Mix until dough clings to hook and cleans sides of bowl, about 2 minutes.

Cover dough with plastic wrap and a towel, let rest for 20 minutes. (At this point, my dough looked awful, not kneaded enough, but I was paranoid about over mixing so I stuck it in the fridge and crossed my fingers. Somehow, it looked like normal dough when I pulled it out. Not sure how that happened, but yay.)

Divide dough in half, shape each half into a loaf and place in greased loaf pans. Brush each loaf with oil and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Refrigerate 2 to 12 hours.

When ready to bake, uncover dough and let stand at room temperature for 10 minutes. Puncture any gas bubbles, then bake at 400 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes. Remove from pans immediately and cool on wire racks.

Let me know if you make this bread – I might be thinking of resolving to make all of our own bread products from now on. Although considering I’m hoping to be a first year teacher come this fall… that might be crazy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

