A week of food

March 12, 2011 at 6:13 pm (pictures, random)

A few blogs I read have done posts lately showing what they buy in a week as far as groceries, usually because they’re trying to lose weight or cut spending. I’m not doing either at the moment, although thanks to student teaching we are keeping track of every penny. But either way, for some strange reason, I find these posts incredibly interesting!

I did our weekly shopping yesterday/today, so I thought I’d share what we buy in a typical week and how much we spend. I also find geographical cost differences very interesting. I’m spoiled by how cheap produce is here in California, and I also think I’m a pretty savvy shopper, so I think we get a good amount for our money. (But who knows, maybe I’m wrong?? Enlighten me, please!)

So yesterday I went to a local chain that specializes in organic/locally grown food, where I get most of our produce. Their normal prices are average, but every week certain fruits and vegetables are on sale for a CRAZY price. I try to buy the sale foods, and then we get a nice variety of fruits/veges throughout the year, and we save money. πŸ™‚

Here’s what I bought:
Fruits and veges
I got 1 lb of dried cranberries (their bulk dry goods section is AMAZING),
2 artichokes,
just over 1 lb of broccoli,
1/2 lb of green beans,
2 1/4 pounds of Fuji apples,
and 2 lbs of bananas.
Plus, a bottle of wine that was on clearance for $3. I’m a sucker for clearance.
All this cost $15.14.

Then today I went to Fresh and Easy, which is by far my favorite grocery store, and bought this:
Fresh and Easy
That includes a pepperoni pizza,
lemonade,
feta cheese,
triscuits and wheat thins,
sour cream,
3 frozen meals for my husband’s lunches,
1 lb of ground turkey,
hot dogs,
3 boxes of granola bars,
2 lbs of baby carrots,
2 cans of beans and a can of tomato paste,
2 blocks of cheese,
a box of margarine,
and a 6 pack of beer.
All this cost $59.57, but I had a $5 coupon so I paid $54.57. That’s one thing I love about Fresh and Easy – they send us coupons in the mail for $3-10 off, depending on the week. I like being able to buy whatever I want, and not worry about what I have coupons for.

So… is this normal? Tell me what you buy! Write a post about it and link it below, ok? πŸ™‚

3 Comments

  1. Bethany said,

    Nice job on the produce! What is the name of your “local chain that specializes in organic/locally grown food?” πŸ™‚ I wanna know!

    Our weekly shopping comes to about $60, so it made me happy to see that we’re about the same! (and with Jesse’s crazy work schedule, I’m never able to buy that much produce–I’d end up having to eat it all myself!)

    I have to admit, your title almost scared me away from reading this post! I haven’t been able to look at any recipe posts in 2 months! πŸ˜› (so…you know…thanks for not grossing me out! lol!)

    • stacey said,

      sprouts! πŸ™‚ i was going to put the name, and then thought “eh, if you’re outside of LA it doesn’t really matter, and Bethany would probably be able to guess!” hehe!

      we’re trying really hard to eat more produce… so I bought a few more vegetables than I usually do. Haven’t had artichokes in YEARS, so we’ll see if I can cook them like I remember them! πŸ™‚

  2. stacey said,

    and i’m very happy you were able to read this post!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

