Browned Pork Chops with Gravy

March 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

My dear sister in law got me this cookbook sometime in the last three years, for a birthday I think? It’s a collection of “Fabulous 50s” recipes, although I don’t know if I’d consider them particularly retro? It is the source of our favorite pork chop recipe, which I’ll share later, but it’s also the source of the following pork chop recipe, which we tried for the first time last night. (Yay! new recipe!)

Browned Pork Chops with Gravy
4 boneless pork chops (I only cooked 2. It worked.)
1/2 tsp dried sage leaves
1/2 tsp dried marjoram leaves
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 cup coarsely chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 cup sliced mushrooms
3/4 cup beef broth
1/3 cup sour cream
1 TB flour
1 tsp Dijon mustard
2 cups hot cooked noodles (I did rice instead.)

Trim fat from chops, and rub both sides with sage/marjoram/pepper/salt. Butter/oil large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium heat. Place chops in skillet, cook 5 minutes, turning once or until chops are just barely pink. Remove from skillet and keep warm.

Add onion and garlic to skillet, cook and stir 2 minutes. Add mushrooms (I didn’t, I hate them) and broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer covered 3-4 minutes or until mushrooms are tender.

Whisk together sour cream/flour/mustard in a bowl, then stir mixture into skillet. Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil. Serve over pork chops and noodles.

The gravy turned out really good! Sort of like a combination of beef stroganoff and swedish meatball gravy. I served it with brown rice and artichokes, the rice was a hit, the artichokes were not. My husband deemed them too much work for too little food! At one point he said it felt like it was just an excuse to scoop up melted butter… I’m not sure I see the problem with that. 🙂

Overall, we don’t love it more than the honey garlic pork chops (I’ll post that sometime this week) recipe from the same cookbook, but it was pretty good. I’ll give it a 7 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

