I feel like I only have teaching stories nowadays…

March 31, 2011 at 9:04 pm (random, teaching)

So after writing about love, and then reading Bethany’s comment, I decided to go re-read some of my old Facebook notes… I feel like I used to have so many more things to talk about! But then I remember I was in college, and I could surf the internet multiple hours a day while in class…

Back to the title, I feel like most of my life is teaching right now. Not that I’m complaining, I LOVE it and love being able to do what I truly believe I am made to do, and I love hearing my fellow teaching friends’ stories. I think it’s just the state of my life right now, and I like it. 🙂

Today’s moment… one of the best moments in the last four weeks at my current school. There is a girl, we’ll call her L. She’s an older high schooler and high functioning but not capable of core curriculum. Hence, she’s in my functional academics class that I teach every morning. Today the teacher decided we’d go out in the community for some research for things the school wants to buy. She threw a hissy fit, complete with colorful language, stomping around, and screaming. Took about 20 minutes to get her in the car, and then all we heard on the way to the first store was about how she didn’t want to be seen with her classmates, she hated us all, etc. She sulked in the car with the teacher while I went in to the first store with two students. On the way to the second store, she quietly said she’d like to go in with me.

I was nervous… I don’t have a ton of authority yet with these kids, and they can get easily upset and bolt. But I agreed, so in we went with one of her classmates. We found what we wanted to price match, wrote down the info, and then I told her we could head back to the van. She looked at me in surprise and said “That’s it?! That’s all we came in here for??”

and then, surprise of all surprises, she said, “I got so worked up over nothing… I’m really embarrassed right now.”

Ah, Miss L, yes, you did get worked up over nothing. But it’s okay, you learned something and we moved on together. I’m so happy you realized it and that we got to have our moment… you made my day. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Bethany said,

    That was a very mature realization for her to make! Cute.

    If all you do is write about teaching, then both of us are guilty. Have you clicked my “Kids Say the Darndest Things” tag on my blog? It’s full of my stories! I have a little yellow notebook in my classroom right now that I’m filling, too.

    A couple of my favorites that I’ve refrained from adding to my blog (simply so I can claim I write about more than just teaching!) :

    Sydney: This is my favorite CD. Mommy and I dance to it all the time.
    (she shoves a cd case in my face and points to the 14 African American musicians photographed for the cover)
    Sydney: Look it! All brown people!

    Jeremy: My mom says I’ll be a good police officer when I grow up.
    Me: You would be a great police officer! That’s what you want to be when you grow up?
    Jeremy: Nope. (walks away)
    Hallie: I know what I want to be when I grow up!
    Me: What do you want to be, Hallie?
    Hallie: A pet fish!!!

    It’s fun to have teacher friends to share laughs with 🙂

    ♥ Bethany

    http://www.happyhomemaker.me

    • stacey said,

      i have clicked that tag, i think!! i love your stories, you have hilarious students! teacher friends are indeed great. i’m glad you know exactly what i mean… kids say the darndest things and i’m surrounded by them all day long! 🙂

      by the way, the day after i posted this, Miss L convinced another girl to break up with her “boyfriend” (of three days) just to make L laugh. sigh. small steps, right?!

Leave a Reply

