And now, Rosita

April 19, 2011 at 5:44 pm (crafting, pictures, random)

Another Friends connection: I killed my beloved couch!
See picture here: I killed the couch
I took this with my phone, so it’s not the greatest.

I can’t say enough how much I love this couch… when I am curled up, I fit perfectly on the cushions, with my head propped on the arm. People, I am tall. This doesn’t happen often. So when my then-boyfriend inherited it from his mom, I told him we’re never getting rid of this couch. And now, after five years of being together, the couch is still with us. (It had at least ten years of life at my in-laws too… so it’s well loved.) A few months ago, my husband was ironing on the living room floor when the iron fell over and melted a bit of the bottom. I mourned but moved on. Then today, I did an even more horrible thing to the couch… I was trying to vacuum the heating vent behind the entertainment center (it was gross, take my word for it) so I set the vacuum on top of the couch arm so I could reach the vent with the hose. When I finished and put the vacuum away, there was my couch arm… scalped. I’m pretty sure the fuzz was melted off?

So today, I am feeling like Joey and his beloved chair Rosita. And, hoping my couch heals itself overnight.

Really, I think I’ll be slipcovering the couch this summer. I’ve been wanting to for a while, after getting a good tutorial from the wonderful Marisa at Parenthetical Me in October, and now I just need to do it. Covering my vacuum mistake… totally worth the ordeal of making a slipcover.

Leave a Reply

