Pea Plants and Babies

April 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm (teaching)

So for one of my lessons I had the brilliant idea to plant pea seeds with my students and then we could measure them and keep data as a combo math/science lesson. It’s been a week and a half and only four of thirteen plants have sprouted… but we had fun, so who cares.

We can’t leave the plants outside overnight, so each morning we take the box of plants outside. As I was walking out with two students and our plants this morning, I asked them if they’ll remember to take care of them after I leave, since tomorrow is my last day of student teaching. (YAY!)

One of my students’ response? “I don’t know about that… I could barely take care of a baby, let alone a plant!”

🙂 Yes, cause taking care of a plant? SO MUCH more work than taking care of a baby…
(And no worries, he doesn’t have a baby. Whew.)

Leave a Reply

