Avocado Basil Pasta

May 3, 2011 at 5:18 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

This recipe has all of my favorite things: garlic, avocado, bacon, basil, pasta, cheese. And in my mind, it’s the perfect summer dish because it’s light and not too hot. I grew up in Northern California, where the temperature was over 100 degrees for weeks at a time, so summer has very distinct meals because you cook as little as possible with weather like that.

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while, from this Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. We both really liked it! I want to tweak it a bit for next time, water down the lemon or something like that because it was a bit strong for my taste. But other than that, two thumbs up from us. Let me know if you try it!

Avocado Basil Pasta
serves 4
2 2/3 cups/8 ounces dried bow tie or wagon wheel pasta (definitely didn’t measure my pasta. Just dumped it in!)
2 medium avocados, halved/seeded/peeled/coarsely chopped
6 slices bacon, crisp-cooked/drained/crumbled
2/3 cup chopped fresh basil
2 TB lemon juice (I didn’t have any fresh lemons so I used the stuff from the bottle. Probably why it was too strong!)
1 TB olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 cup finely shredded Pecorino Romano cheese (I used parmesan because that’s all I had)

Cook the pasta according to directions, and drain. While the pasta is cooking, mix avocado, bacon, basil, lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, pepper, and salt. Add hot pasta, and toss to combine. Transfer to a serving bowl and top with cheese.

1 Comment

  1. Bethany said,

    Mmm….sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

