“You become great by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.”

May 8, 2011 at 9:01 pm (random, teaching)

So xkcd is this web comic, based on nerdy math science humor. My friend/former roommate got us hooked, and normally I read it, chuckle, and move on.

Today’s, however, I loved more than I usually do. Go read.

I wouldn’t put myself in the feminist camp normally, because I don’t advocate in the same way or for the same things as most outspoken feminists do. (Summary of my beliefs: I think the sexes are not created to do the same things: we have been gifted with different talents and abilities so expecting girls and guys to be equally good at all things sets both genders up for failure. Not to say that there aren’t some girls who are good at stereotypically male things. Also, be proud of what you are good at – if you are a girl who is an excellent mother and wants to stay home, there is no need to rebel against that simply because it’s “not progressive.”)

However, I went to an all girls school, and those four years there made me so staunchly pro-girl and so confident in who I am. That comic? That’s the kind of thing my teachers would have told me. They would have showed me that there are thousands of unsung female heroes, that have worked hard at what they believe in and done great things, but I am not to simply copy them – I am to be my own great person, working hard at whatever I believe in. Girls need to hear that, a lot, over and over. Heck, guys need to hear that too. And I feel like single gender/same-sex/non-coed, pick your favorite term, schools do that better than coed schools, but that’s a related topic for another post.

Either way, teachers should be like zombie Marie Curie in today’s xkcd, and I hope I am like that too. Students need to hear that they can be great in their own way, and that’s accomplished by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.

4 Comments

  1. Littlebeut333 said,

    ‘I am to be my own great person’…love it. So well written and it’s really made me think about my opinions of feminism, and I think your teachers were fantastic to teach you of the successful women, yet let you know its OK to be great at what ever flicks your switch. I agree that both genders have their worries; power is an issue between the sexes in society but power is only one problem for women. The boys have many problems too, and they are rising rapidily with the media nowadays! Fab thought provoking stuff…Thanks for a great read from you and your mac 🙂 Dawny 🙂

    • stacey said,

      Thanks, Dawny! I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s been fun to read all the posts prompted by this xkcd! 🙂

  2. Cristina said,

    Really good webcomic. I read it everyday and I absolutely loved this one. Really motivational, I wrote it in front of my desk to relieve my insommia nights of work.

    I came here looking for a possible alternative origin of that nice sentence in your title, and come pleased to see I can still quote it as “Zombie Marie Curie” (it will make me smile each time I read it).

    Nice post =)

  3. stacey said,

    I as well tried to google the quote to see if there was a real person behind it… I couldn’t find anything, so zombie Marie Curie it is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

