123 Chicken, and an anniversary

May 10, 2011 at 12:50 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

Yesterday for dinner I tried something new (hallelujah! I’m remembering to cook new things!!) and it turned out well, I think, with only one minor mishap…

The basic idea, which I believe I found on allrecipes as 123 Chicken, was to put chicken breasts in the center of a casserole dish, surround with cut up potatoes and carrots, pour Italian salad dressing over the top, and bake at 425 degrees for 40-45 minutes. Even though I used about half the dressing the recipe suggested (they said use a whole bottle for 4 chicken breasts, I used about 1/3 of a bottle for 2 chicken breasts) it still bubbled up and overflowed Italian salad dressing all over the bottom of my oven. Which then started smoking something fierce.

Of course, I discover this and am frantically trying to put a cookie sheet underneath the casserole dish to catch drips while fanning the air and opening all the windows when my dear, sweet husband walks in with a bouquet of roses, because today is our 3rd wedding anniversary.

Poor guy. As he put it, “That was not quite the romantic welcome home I was expecting…”

Summary: chicken saved, apartment didn’t burn down, and it tasted pretty good. The chicken didn’t pick up as much of the flavoring as I anticipated (maybe marinate in dressing next time?) but the potatoes and carrots were amazing!! And now I have a pretty bouquet of roses too.

Tonight, we’re going out for a fancy dinner to really celebrate. It’s probably safer, poor oven.

1 Comment

  1. Bethany said,

    Lol! Don’t you love it? Tyler cracks me up…I can totally picture him saying that 🙂

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! You are seriously one of our favorite couples, and we are so blessed to know you!

    Love you both!

    ♥ Beth

Leave a Reply

