New Recipe: Lentil Feta Salad and Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

June 2, 2011 at 10:30 am (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

I got creative for dinner last night and made this recipe, Lentil Feta Salad, that I saw on an episode of From Martha’s Kitchen (I think?) a few weeks ago. My only change was that I didn’t mix in the feta, because if we didn’t like it, I didn’t want to waste the feta, or if we had a lot of leftovers, I didn’t want the feta to get mushy.

I also whipped up some of this Roasted Red Pepper Hummus to go with it. We put lettuce inside pitas, then spread on some hummus, poured in some of the lentil salad, and added feta on top. Verdict? We really liked it! And it felt very healthy. My hummus is still too bland (Fresh and Easy, your hummus kicks mine’s butt) but overall, the meal was a success. I’d put it in the category of summer dinners – it’s not hearty enough for winter, but it doesn’t heat up the kitchen aside from roasting the red peppers, which you could probably skip.

Do you have a favorite Greek recipe? I’d love to be able to make gyro wraps at home…

2 Comments

  1. Bethany said,

    Sounds delicious! I would love to see if Jesse would try it 🙂
    I don’t have a gyro recipe for you, but I’ll try to snag my mom’s feta pasta salad recipe. Yum! I love Greek food! The more feta, the betta 😉

    ♥ Bethany

    http://www.happyhomemaker.me

    • stacey said,

      We thought of you, Matt, and Emily when we started eating! We decided you guys would love it. Not sure about Jesse. 🙂 Although yesterday for lunch, I did have leftovers in a tortilla with sour cream instead of feta, and that made it much less unusual. Sort of like a bean burrito, just with extra veggies!

Leave a Reply

