Fruit leather update, and another new recipe: focaccia

June 13, 2011 at 8:32 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

So boy, that fruit leather. It turned out to be a 12+ hour project! I opted for the “275 degrees for 35 minutes, then shut off your oven and let it sit for 8 hours” method. I jumped out of bed this morning, so excited to cut up the fruit leather so Tyler could take some for his lunch.

And… it was still soupy. Just like it’d looked last night when I poured it from the blender. Well, shoot. So I turned the oven back on, to 175 this time, and let it bake. And bake, and bake. I believe I turned the oven off around 11 – it needed an extra four hours of baking!! But, I am impressed with how it turned out. It’s a little crunchier than store bought fruit leather, but it tastes awesome!! Very strawberry, very good. Will be trying again. Just make sure to get an even layer of puree, and make sure to bake until you can touch it and not leave indents. It doesn’t taste good mushy, in my opinion.

And, miracle of miracles, tried another new recipe today in the effort to branch out my yeast skills: focaccia from Tyler Florence of the Food Network. It was indeed as fabulous as the recipe title claims. I didn’t add all the extra toppings, just salt/pepper/rosemary. I also didn’t use cornmeal on the cookie sheet, just olive oil.

I need some more new recipes… what are you all eating this week?

1 Comment

  1. Bethany said,

    I enjoyed them both! Sorry the fruit leather gave you issues. Silly stuff. It sure was yummy, though! I’m just totally impressed that you tried it. Homemade fruit leather would have never occurred to me (I think strawberries just don’t make it very far in my house before they get gobbled up!)

    ♥ Bethany

    http://www.happyhomemaker.me

Leave a Reply

