Not a fan of poetry

July 2, 2011 at 10:42 am (random, teaching)

I normally don’t like poetry. I’d always dread the unit in every English class where we had to read poems and analyze them. Short stories, I’m all over those, but poems are my nemesis.

Found this one today, though, and I liked it a lot:

Post-Graduate
by Dorothy Parker

“Hope it was that tutored me,
And Love that taught me more;
And now I learn at Sorrow’s knee
The self-same lore.”

I had finally gotten out of my funk, and actually just had a busy enough two weeks that I didn’t have much time to blog. I helped out at my church’s Vacation Bible School, went on a church retreat, a vacation day at Disneyland, then I spent a busy week interviewing for two jobs. I drove 280 miles for two interviews for one teaching position, and I thought it was pretty much a sure thing. Was SO excited to finally be getting somewhere.But oh, is God teaching me to trust Him lately. A late interviewee bumped me from the top spot. I got the call yesterday that I was their second favorite candidate, but they only had one job, so they were very sorry but they had to pick the other person.

Ouch. Been at Sorrow’s knee since getting that call.

I have no idea where my life is supposed to go from here. I’ve got exactly one month from yesterday to find a job somewhere else in the Los Angeles area, otherwise we’re committed to our (not centrally located) apartment for another year, and I’ve got to find something in this area. (One of the areas hit the hardest by the recession, so openings are rare around here.) I know I should be saying that I know God has a plan for me, and this will all work out, but right now? Right now I’m mad. And hurt. And frustrated.

So, I push on. I have chinchillas to pet-sit this weekend. They are freaked out by my apartment, sadly, so I mostly watch them instead of playing with them. I designed my first quilt and got most of the pieces cut out yesterday. (Which made me realize I really need a rotary cutter!) Today we’re using movie tickets a friend gave us to go see Pirates 4. I don’t like life right now, but I push forward. I am in Sorrow, but in Sorrow I will learn.

3 Comments

  1. Bethany said,

    Sometimes, life just flat-out sucks.
    This comic strip (http://www.joannejacobs.com/wp-content/uploads/362352.full_.gif) is on the refrigerator door at my parents’ house in light of my three sibling graduates this year 🙂 It makes me laugh/cry/shake my head every time I see it.
    I’m praying that the next month brings clarity to both of us so that we know where to move! In the meantime, I’ll lend you my rotary cutter/mat if you want it 🙂

    ♥ Bethany

    http://www.happyhomemaker.me

    • stacey said,

      Ha! That’s one of our favorite comic strips! And would you believe it, I’ve never seen that particular one.

      Yes, prayers for the next month for both of us!! And yes please!! A rotary cutter would make me not hate my life quite as much. 😉

      • Bethany said,

        I’ve got it, the ruler, and the mat, along with the two books I promised you (plus two more) next to the door ready to go for tomorrow! ♥

Leave a Reply

