New Recipe: Hasselback potatoes

August 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

I pinned a recipe (picture below) for Hasselback potatoes on Pinterest this morning, and by lunchtime had scrapped what I’d planned for dinner and decided we were having steak and potatoes instead! πŸ™‚ This was a new recipe for Tyler, but not a new recipe for me. I grew up with potatoes like this, but my mom called them “hedgehog potatoes.” My humorous husband says they look more caterpillars than hedgehogs, but I’m sticking with my mom’s name. πŸ™‚ Come to find out, they’re Swedish, so perhaps my mom learned to make them when she studied there? I’ll have to ask!

You can click on my pin below to repin it to your own board, or you can see the original source here. I won’t repost the entire recipe, but I do have a few tips:
-SLICE THINLY. Seriously. If it’s thick, it just doesn’t work as well. Put the potato between two wooden spoon handles to stop you from cutting down too far.
-Be stingy with the olive oil. Maybe just brush it on, definitely do not pour it on. If you do, then it starts smoking, and you’re running around opening windows and turning on fans. (Seriously, do I ever learn?? Apparently not.)
-You’ll probably need longer than 40 minutes. Mine could have used about 20 minutes more, but I realized that too late.
-This is a great recipe for improvising! It’s been so long since I’ve had my mom’s version that I can’t remember what spices she used to add, but I know that she added more than salt and pepper. Rosemary? Oregano? I have no idea! I’ll just have to make more, I guess!

Anyone else grow up with Hasselback/hedgehog potatoes? Do you know them by yet another name? πŸ™‚

Source: seasaltwithfood.com via Stacey on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

