New Recipe: Turkey Chili Shepherd’s Pie

August 18, 2011 at 7:18 pm (recipes, resolution: 1 a week)

I picked up this cookbook, Rachael Ray’s Look + Cook, at the library last week, and flipped through it while I was at jury duty on Monday. (Side note: got excused! Yay!)

There are some pretty good dinner recipes in there, and I tried one tonight: turkey chili shepherd’s pie. I used my recipe for chili instead of the recipe from the book, made in a crockpot a few days ago. Then today, I put some of the leftover chili in a 9 x 9 Pyrex dish, and topped with mashed sweet potatoes. Yes, sweet potatoes. I was skeptical, but Rachael was right. I stuck the chili and the potatoes in the oven at 475 degrees for about 20 minutes, then sprinkled on some cheddar cheese and stuck it back in until melted and golden. No picture, cause I was starving and forgot. 😦

Our verdict: pretty good!! Definitely a good way to use up leftover chili, and it’s a change from our typical chili meals. I added a little sour cream on top of my serving, and I loooved the creamy rich tang it added.

Are you a Rachael Ray fan? I can’t watch her show because I feel like she’s yelling at me, but I do love her cookbooks!

Leave a Reply

